Settings > Bulk edit

The Bulk edit section in the Settings app provides configuration options for managing bulk edit profiles. Bulk edit profiles are predefined templates that help librarians perform bulk edits in a consistent and controlled manner. Instead of manually configuring each bulk edit job, users can create and reuse profiles that define what data to change and how.

Capabilities and Capability Sets

The following Capabilities allow for interaction in Settings > Bulk edit.

For all Settings > Bulk edit capabilities:

  • Application is app-bulk-edit.
  • Type is settings.
Resource (EUREKA) Action
Settings Bulk-Edit Enabled view
UI-Bulk-Edit-Settings view
UI-Bulk-Edit-Settings create
UI-Bulk-Edit-Settings delete
UI-Bulk-Edit-Settings Lock edit

Creating a bulk edit profile

  1. Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.
  2. Click the New button to open the profile creation form (for holdings, items, or users) or the Actions button (for Instances only, after which you will see options for new profiles).
  3. In the Summary accordion fill out information about the profile so that it can easily be identified during the bulk edit job execution.
  4. In the Bulk Edits section, specify the data changes, similar to how you would configure them in the Bulk edit form within the Bulk edit app.
  5. Click Save & close. Once saved, the profile is immediately available for use within the Bulk edit app.

Editing an existing profile

  1. Navigate to Settings → Bulk edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.
  2. Click the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Edit.
  3. Make required changes, then click Save & close.

Duplicating a profile

  1. Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.
  2. Click the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Duplicate. That opens a new profile creation form, prepopulated with the data from the original profile. The name of the profile is prefixed with “Copy of”.
  3. Make required changes, then click Save & close.

Locking and unlocking a profile

  1. Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.
  2. Click the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Edit.
  3. Click Lock profile. The selected value will lock the profile and the unselected value will make the profile unlocked.
  4. Locking the profile makes it read-only and prevents deletion. Locked profiles can only be duplicated.

Deleting a profile

  1. Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.
  2. Click the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Delete.
  3. Confirm deletion of the profile. The profile is removed and not available any longer for use in bulk edit jobs within Bulk edit app. Note: Deleted profiles cannot be restored.
Last modified July 11, 2026